Primary and Secondary School

School education in Australia includes preschool, preparatory (or kindergarten), primary school, secondary school (or high school) and senior secondary school (or college).

Australian schools do more than just educate students. They prepare them for life, such as: creativity, communication, collaboration and critical thinking. Schools offer a broad curriculum in the key learning areas, such as: English, mathematics, science, arts, Languages Other Than English (LOTE), technology, health and physical education.

School education is similar across all of Australia and school education (primary and secondary) is compulsory between the ages of six and sixteen (Year 1 to Year 9 or 10). School education is 13 years and divided into:


  • Primary school: seven or eight years, starting at Kindergarten/Preparatory through to Year 6 or 7.

  • Secondary school: three or four years, from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.

  • Senior secondary school: two years, Years 11 and 12.



  • Small class sizes (a maximum of 30 students in a class)

  • Qualified teachers and specialist teachers

  • High standard

  • ‘Gifted and talented’ programs to high achievers

  • ‘High Achievement’ programs, which allows the top students to study university-level subjects for advance credit

  • Additional learning support



  • Vary from State to State and depend on whether students attend public or non-government schools.


The information above is quoted from EDUCATION AGENT TRAINING COURSE – COURSE BOOK